Makeup of 11 Knesset committees confirmed

The Knesset’s Arrangements Committee approves the makeup of the parliament’s 11 committees, nearly a month after the new government was formed.

The Knesset House Committee will be headed by Yamina’s Nir Orbach; the Finance Committee by Yisrael Beytenu’s Alex Kushnir; the Foreign Affairs and Defense Committee by Yesh Atid’s Ram Ben Barak; the Economic Affairs Committe by Blue and White’s Michael Biton; and the Internal Affairs and Environment Committee by Ra’am’s Saeed al-Harumi.

The opposition will control three committees: the Committee on the Status of Women and Gender Equality; the State Control Committee; and the Science and Technology Committee.

The formation of the panels is approved in a 17-13 vote.

Never miss breaking news on Israel
Get notifications to stay updated
You're subscribed