Israel adds Britain, Turkey, Cyprus to no-fly list due to COVID risk

The Knesset’s Constitution, Law and Justice Committee approves the addition of Britain, Turkey, Georgia and Cyprus to the list of countries holding the highest risk to travelers of contracting COVID-19.

This means that, as of midnight, travel to those countries will be barred save for exceptional cases to be determined by a special committee.

Additionally, the Knesset committee significantly shortens the expiration date of the current “Green Pass” regulations, which restrict access to many public places only to people who are vaccinated, recovered from COVID-19 or present a recent negative test result.

Rather than August 25, the rules are now set to end on August 7. That is because the government wants to change the current rules to enable rapid PCR tests.

Never miss breaking news on Israel
Get notifications to stay updated
You're subscribed