24th Knesset to be sworn in as threat of 5th elections looms

The 24th Knesset will be sworn in this afternoon, under the threat of a fifth round of elections in two years.

President Reuven Rivlin will open the ceremony at 4 p.m. at Israel’s parliament.

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu earlier today was given first shot at attempting to form a coalition, but has no clear path to a government.

(New faces in the 24th Knesset, from top left) Religious Zionism’s Itamar Ben Gvir, Avi Maoz, Simcha Rothman and Michal Waldiger; Yamina’s Amichai Chikli, Alon Davidi (who has resigned and won’t be entering Knesset), Nir Orbach and Abir Kara; Likud’s Galit Distal; Yesh Atid’s Ron Katz and Nira Shafek; Labor’s Efrat Raitman, Gilad Kariv, Emilie Moatti and Ibtisam Mara’ana; and Meretz’s Renawi Zoabi (Photo credits: Flash90 / Courtesy)