Trump signs new travel ban targeting six mostly-Muslim nations

President Trump signs a revised ban on travelers from six Muslim-majority nations — one with a reduced scope so Iraqis and permanent US residents are exempt.

The White House says Trump signed the order — which temporarily freezes new visas for Syrians, Iranians, Libyans, Somalis, Yemenis and Sudanese citizens — behind closed doors “this morning.”

The order places a 120-day freeze on all refugee arrivals.

The revised ban, which comes into effect on March 16, says the six countries are targeted because their screening and information capabilities don’t meet US security requirements.

Officials say that, unlike in the initial January 27 executive order, all pre-existing, valid visas from the six countries will be honored.

“The motivating factor here is a desire for greater security,” says a senior State Department official.


Never miss breaking news on Israel
Get notifications to stay updated
You're subscribed
Register for free
and continue reading
Registering also lets you comment on articles and helps us improve your experience. It takes just a few seconds.
Already registered? Enter your email to sign in.
Please use the following structure: [email protected]
Or Continue with
By registering you agree to the terms and conditions. Once registered, you’ll receive our Daily Edition email for free.
Register to continue
Or Continue with
Log in to continue
Sign in or Register
Or Continue with
check your email
Check your email
We sent an email to you at .
It has a link that will sign you in.