Government announces new Israel Prize categories in light of Israel-Hamas war

Gavriel Fiske is a reporter at The Times of Israel

Two new categories influenced by the ongoing war will be included in the next Israel Prize awards, the government announces.

The new categories are: “Societal Responsibility,” for civil efforts and volunteering, and “Rescuing and Citizen Heroism,” for civilian acts of bravery in helping others during the crisis.

The Israel Prize is considered the country’s highest honor and is awarded in diverse categories of achievement in science, academia, the arts and more. The prize are awarded on Independence Day, the fifth day of the Hebrew month of Iyar, which in 2024 falls on the evening of Sunday, May 13.

Nominees for the Israel Prize are publicly submitted. Submissions for the new categories will be accepted online until December 13 at this link (Hebrew).

Never miss breaking news on Israel
Get notifications to stay updated
You're subscribed
Register for free
and continue reading
Registering also lets you comment on articles and helps us improve your experience. It takes just a few seconds.
Already registered? Enter your email to sign in.
Please use the following structure:
Or Continue with
By registering you agree to the terms and conditions. Once registered, you’ll receive our Daily Edition email for free.
Register to continue
Or Continue with
Log in to continue
Sign in or Register
Or Continue with
check your email
Check your email
We sent an email to you at .
It has a link that will sign you in.