The Foreign Ministry has ordered Israeli embassies to encourage their host countries to not attend or only send low-level representatives to the next summit of Non-Aligned Movement countries, to take place in Iran on August 26-31, Maariv reported on Thursday.

Tehran is hoping to bring together the 120 countries belonging to the NAM for the summit, which takes place once every three years. Israel, which is leading efforts to push for Iran’s isolation in the international arena, intends to focus its boycotting efforts on major African, Asian and South American countries, especially India and China.

On Wednesday, Iranian Foreign Minister Ali Akbar Salehi said that all members of the Non-Aligned Movement have indicated they will attend the meeting.

The Tehran Times reported on Thursday that the Iranian vice president for executive affairs will travel as a special envoy to Egypt to personally invite Egyptian President Mohammed Morsi to attend the summit.

According to documents obtained by Western diplomatic sources, at the summit Iran intends to press for a resolution that would recognize the right of developing countries to pursue nuclear power and to enrich uranium, beyond limits and accountability imposed on signatories of the nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty.

If such a resolution were to pass, it is likely that Iran would use it to emphasize its right to enrich uranium in opposition to the West.

This year has seen several rounds of failed negotiations between Iran and the P5+1 (China, France, Russia, the UK, Germany and the US) regarding Iran’s nuclear power program, which the West and Israel believe is aimed at producing nuclear weapon capability.

During the negotiation period, Iran has come under increasingly harsh economic sanctions and isolation as a result of EU and American initiatives. Tehran’s hosting of the Non-Aligned Movement summit is seen as an opportunity break through Iran’s international isolation.

The Non-Aligned Movement was formed in 1961 as a platform for third-world and developing countries who did not want to be beholden to the major Cold War powers, the US and the USSR. It currently has 120 member states and 21 states with observer status, encompassing nearly all African, South American and Asian countries.