Among new MKs entering Knesset: neo-Kahanist, Reform rabbi

Among the 16 new lawmakers being sworn in today are: Gilad Kariv, the first Reform rabbi, and Itamar Ben Gvir, a disciple of extremist rabbi Meir Kahane and head of the neo-Kahanist Otzma Yehudit party (elected as a faction within the Religious Zionism party).

Read more about the new faces here.

In total, 30 women were elected, the same as the record high set by the outgoing 23rd Knesset. (The total number of women who served in the 20th Knesset eventually swelled to 36, after seven female lawmakers entered parliament as replacements during its four-year life.)

(New faces in the 24th Knesset, from top left) Religious Zionism’s Itamar Ben Gvir, Avi Maoz, Simcha Rothman and Michal Waldiger; Yamina’s Amichai Chikli, Alon Davidi (he resigned and won’t be entering Knesset), Nir Orbach and Abir Kara; Likud’s Galit Distal; Yesh Atid’s Ron Katz and Nira Shafek; Labor’s Efrat Raitman, Gilad Kariv, Emilie Moatti and Ibtisam Mara’ana; and Meretz’s Renawi Zoabi (Photo credits: Flash90 / Courtesy)