At least 54 countries, but not Israel, have been implicated in torture, kidnapping, and detention in cooperation with the CIA in the wake of 9/11, according to a report released Tuesday by the Open Society Foundations.

The 216-page report describes how 136 people went through the intelligence agency’s post-9/11 detention and extraordinary rendition programs, in which suspected terrorists were moved to secret prisons abroad and often tortured without a legal process, sparking virulent criticism from human rights defenders.

It also showed that the US covertly cooperated with its adversaries under the banner of fighting terror.

Israel is absent from the list — but two of its fiercest enemies, Syria and Iran, were found to be complicit in the top-secret interrogation tactics that were expanded under former US president George W. Bush.

Although Iran wasn’t found to have actually carried out torture on behalf of the US (it transferred suspects to Afghan jails), the Islamic Republic’s proxy, Syria, did, according to the human right group’s tally.

Diane Feinstein, chairwoman of the Senate Select Intelligence Committee, in December condemned the CIA’s interrogation practices as terrible mistakes.

“By engaging in torture and other abuses associated with secret detention and extraordinary rendition, the US government violated domestic and international law, thereby diminishing its moral standing and eroding support for its counterterrorism efforts worldwide as these abuses came to light,” Open Society Foundation investigator Amrit Singh wrote in the report. 

The 54 countries that aided in post-9/11 renditions are: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, Finland, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Libya, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malawi, Malaysia, Mauritania, Morocco, Pakistan, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Syria, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, Yemen, and Zimbabwe.

This list doesn’t preclude the possibility that additional countries’ involvement will emerge.