Iraq to be struck from new US travel directive – report

US President Donald Trump later today is set to strike Iraq from a list of countries whose citizens are banned from entering the US, a White House source confirms to Reuters.

The source is quoted as saying that the other Middle Eastern and Muslim-majority countries on the original list — Yemen, Syria, Iran, Sudan, and Libya — will remain under a 90-day travel ban.

The new guidelines are being issued after the courts blocked the original ones.

According to the official, Iraq was removed because Baghdad had begun imposing its own procedures for vetting travelers, and because of Iraq’s efforts, alongside the US, to target the Islamic State group.

The report also says the new ban — as opposed to the old one — will not affect the tens of thousands of green card-holders from those countries.

The new order will also erase the distinction between refugees from Syria, who were originally banned indefinitely, and other countries, banning them all for 120 days, the official tells Reuters.

Never miss breaking news on Israel
Get notifications to stay updated
You're subscribed
Register for free
and continue reading
Registering also lets you comment on articles and helps us improve your experience. It takes just a few seconds.
Already registered? Enter your email to sign in.
Please use the following structure:
Or Continue with
By registering you agree to the terms and conditions. Once registered, you’ll receive our Daily Edition email for free.
Register to continue
Or Continue with
Log in to continue
Sign in or Register
Or Continue with
check your email
Check your email
We sent an email to you at .
It has a link that will sign you in.