What to expect: The schedule for today’s government swearing-in

Here’s a rough schedule of the dramatic day ahead in the Knesset, in which Benjamin Netanyahu is set to resume his longtime role as prime minister after being replaced 18 months ago.

11 a.m. (all times are Israel time, GMT+2): Netanyahu and outgoing Prime Minister Yair Lapid will kick off a pre-swearing-in session in the Knesset plenum.

2 p.m. The Knesset will hold a vote on appointing Likud MK Amir Ohana as Knesset speaker.

Shortly after the Knesset speaker vote, the 120 Knesset members will vote on swearing in Israel’s 37th government.

After that, the government will be sworn in.

The ceremony is expected to wrap up by 5 p.m.

Never miss breaking news on Israel
Get notifications to stay updated
You're subscribed
Register for free
and continue reading
Registering also lets you comment on articles and helps us improve your experience. It takes just a few seconds.
Already registered? Enter your email to sign in.
Please use the following structure:
Or Continue with
By registering you agree to the terms and conditions. Once registered, you’ll receive our Daily Edition email for free.
Register to continue
Or Continue with
Log in to continue
Sign in or Register
Or Continue with
check your email
Check your email
We sent an email to you at .
It has a link that will sign you in.